Ernie Boruk Award

The Ernie Boruk Award is presented annually to an individual in appreciation of outstanding dedication and contribution to the Hockey Alberta Referee Council. (Maximum one recipient per year.)

Nomination Criteria

  • Either an active or no longer active on-ice official
  • Made an outstanding contribution to hockey officiating in Alberta at the provincial level
  • Current or former member in good standing
  • Minimum of 15 years of involvement as an official, with at least five years working in administration (for example, Regional Committee member or local Referee in Chief)


  • Must be received no later than April 1 (of appropriate year)
  • Must have accompanying documentation outlining the nominee’s contributions
  • Must be submitted to the awards committee chair, and copied to the Officials Committee Chair

Nominations will be brought forward for (2) years in addition to the original nomination year.

Ernie Boruk Award nomination form >


David Mousseau (second from right) receives the Ernie Boruk award 

David Mousseau from Red Deer Alberta. 

 2018 - Kumail Moledina

Kumail first registered in 1993 in the South East District in Edmonton. He attended the Hockey Alberta Development Camp in 2000, and worked his way up to a Level 4 Official. He refereed Midget AAA, Junior B, and attended the Mac’s tournament twice as linesman and once as referee.

He has held numerous positions at the zone level including Vice Chair and was on the Discipline committee. He also held the role of Secretary and was on the Rates committee and Social committee, supervision committee, he’s been a minor Committee member. Kumail was also assigned in SE District for 3 years and in the AA program for one year. He’s also handled discipline and elections, and launched the shadow program in Edmonton in the SE District. He was also a Zone Chairman for 4 years, and Provincially has held the position of match penalty coordinator

He won the Ron Panchyshyn Award in 2013 and the George McCorry Award in 2015.

2017 - Dave Butler 2016 - Craig DeCoursey 2015 - Don Roberts
2014 - Curtis Nichols 2013 - Mark Woytkiw 2012 - Dion Pollard
2011 - Dave Shaw 2010 - Marty Tingstad 2009 - Karent Kost
2008 - John Jacobs 2007 - Miles Spencer 2006 - Wayne Krausnick
2005 - Mike Rebus 2004 - Duncan MacDougal 2003 - Ross Yarmuch
2002 - Jim McNamara 2001 - Keith Wilkinson 2000 - Dwayne Lunquist
1999 - John Kobal 1998 - Bryan Morrison 1997 - Wally Popik
1996 - Dave Luke 1995 - Ken McVicar 1994 - Bernie Haley
1993 - George McCorry 1992 - Dave Ganley