AGM, Golf and Scholarthips

2023 Annual General Meeting & Social
Date: April 24, 2023
Time: 7:00PM
Location: Canandian Athletic Club Arena
14645 142 Street NW, Edmonton AB

The AGM will include 2023 Award Presentations and year end reports from Executive Members. Pizza and Beverages will be provided to those that attend with time to hang around and chat with fellow officials following the meeting. Remember to bring cash with you as we will have a 50/50 draw with proceeds going to the family of Const. Brett Ryan.

50/50 tickets are 1 for $2, 3 for $5, 10 for $10. Looking forward to seeing everyone there! Any questions can be directed to Alex Verhaeghe @ 780-265-1024


2023 North Region Golf Tournament
This years golf tournament will be on June 17, 2023! Final details and course location TBD! If you have any questions, would like to donate prizes or would like to be informed when the final details are set, you can contact Alex Verhaeghe via [email protected]



Hockey Alberta Officials Committee Scholarship
Annually – Maximum of three (3) awards of up to $1,500.

Scholarships are presented to applicants who meet the following criteria:

-A member in good standing with Hockey Alberta in the current season with a minimum of Level 2 certification.
-A resident of Alberta for at least 2 years.
-18 years of age by December 15 of the season s/he is applying for scholarship.
-An active official, working games at any level.
-Attending a post-secondary institution in a recognized program on a full time basis, including a recognized trade school program. Transcript of class enrolment is required.
-Other criteria will include, but is not limited to, the applicant’s on-ice ability and off-ice contribution to his/her Region.

Application deadline is April 1 of each year.


Kenneth R. Stiles Scholarship

The Kenneth R. Stiles Memorial Scholarship was established by the Seaman Hotchkiss Hockey Foundation (formerly Project 75) and Hockey Canada in recognition of Ken Stiles and his tremendous contribution to grassroots hockey in Canada.

Through the vision and leadership of the Seaman Hotchkiss Hockey Foundation, many Hockey Canada development programs have received their start. The Hockey Canada Officiating Program of Excellence is an excellent example of this support.

The Seaman Hotchkiss Hockey Foundation is committed to providing Canadian student athletes and officials with access to financial resources to support their pursuit of post-secondary education.

Scholarships are allocated (one major award of $5,000 and three minor awards of $1,000 each) for both Male and Female officials. Male recipients must have been part of the Hockey Canada OPEO in the past and female officials must be at minimum Level 3 certification.

The deadline for applications is April 15, 2022. Full criteria are included in the application form package.


Edmonton Invitational TOC Scholarship

The Edmonton Invitational Bantam Tournament of Champions is providing the North Region Officials with a $1000 scholarship to be awarded to an official who officiated at the Bantam level this season. Officiating in the annual Edmonton Invitational Bantam Tournament (EBIT) of Champions would be a plus. The funds will be held in escrow until the official provides the EBIT Scholarship Committee with an official receipt showing proof of registration or tuition payment to a post-secondary education institution. Should the official not provide such and reach the age of 23 years old, the scholarship will be returned to the EBIT Scholarship Fund.


The criteria for the award is:

1.    Academic accolades (current marks as of April 1). A letter from current registered school will provide information.

2.    Athletic accolades, if any.

3.    Applicant to write an essay (minimum 200 words) outlining why s/he deserves the scholarship and what being an official has done for him or her.

4.    Letters of Reference.

Please apply to the EBIT Scholarship at [email protected]

Only the successful candidate will be notified, and the name will be posted on the EBIT and Hockey Alberta Officials website. No individual can win more than one scholarship.