Ernie Boruk Award

The Ernie Boruk Award is presented annually to an individual in appreciation of outstanding dedication and contribution to the Hockey Alberta Officials Committee. (Maximum one recipient per year.)

Nomination Criteria

  • Either an active or no longer active on-ice official
  • Made an outstanding contribution to hockey officiating in Alberta at the provincial level
  • Current or former member in good standing
  • Minimum of 15 years of involvement as an official, with at least five years working in administration (for example, Regional Committee member or local Referee in Chief)


  • Must be received no later than April 1 (of appropriate year)
  • Must have accompanying documentation outlining the nominee’s contributions
  • Must be submitted to the awards committee chair, and copied to the Officials Committee Chair

Nominations will be brought forward for (2) years in addition to the original nomination year.

Ernie Boruk Award Nomination >

CJ Senkow

CJ Senkow has been involved in various capacities in both the North Central and Peace Region executives since 2001. CJ has spent the last six years as the Coordinator of the Peace Region. He’s been on several committees at the provincial level as well as an instructor for all levels of officiating provincially. On the ice, CJ has worked all levels of hockey in Alberta and the WHL, officiated numerous Provincial and National championships, and just retired this year from the AJHL.


David Mousseau (second from right) receives the Ernie Boruk award 

David Mousseau from Red Deer Alberta. 

   2019 - David Mousseau 2018 - Kumail Moledina
2017 - Dave Butler 2016 - Craig DeCoursey 2015 - Don Roberts
2014 - Curtis Nichols 2013 - Mark Woytkiw 2012 - Dion Pollard
2011 - Dave Shaw 2010 - Marty Tingstad 2009 - Karent Kost
2008 - John Jacobs 2007 - Miles Spencer 2006 - Wayne Krausnick
2005 - Mike Rebus 2004 - Duncan MacDougal 2003 - Ross Yarmuch
2002 - Jim McNamara 2001 - Keith Wilkinson 2000 - Dwayne Lunquist
1999 - John Kobal 1998 - Bryan Morrison 1997 - Wally Popik
1996 - Dave Luke 1995 - Ken McVicar 1994 - Bernie Haley
1993 - George McCorry 1992 - Dave Ganley